Saturday, May 30, 2015

A Cure For Middle Grade Summer Reading Blues

Believe me when I tell you I grew up hating to read; not just in the summer, but all the time. There were several reasons for this, but the irony of the situation is my father authored over 70 books during his lifetime, and I didn’t read any of them as a child.

Today I write action-adventures and mysteries, for middle grade readers, I would have enjoyed as a kid. My entire professional life has been devoted to the production of dramatic films, video programs, and television commercials.

So, when it comes to writing for middle grade readers, I bring unique elements to each project.

At the present time, I have contracts for over twenty books with three publishers. Perhaps you’ll find one that’s just perfect for your middle grade reader. Hopefully you’ll discover several more here because these books work well with struggling, or reluctant as well as avid readers. And though they are slanted toward boys, I’ve found that girls have embraced them, too.
The Sam Cooper Adventure Series!

There are 6 books in this series. Currently the available titles are Lost Island Smugglers and Captain Jack’s Treasure. The series includes the following titles:

Lost Island Smugglers
Captain Jack’s Treasure
River Rampage

This Property Is Condemned
Coming Soon!

At the Buzzer
Ghosts In The Old Attic
Coming Soon!

Next is another 6 book series, from Elk Lake Publishing, called The Accidental Adventures of Kurt Benson And His Friends, Riley and Jordan. This series includes:
The Cat Burglars
Coming Soon!

Funny Money Mystery
The Secret Of Grandmother’s
Grandfather Clock

Coming Soon!
Summer Camp Trouble

Danger Mountain

Shadow Of The Fat Man

NOTE: This series will begin releasing in mid-summer
Mark these sites and check back often
Elk Lake Publishing:
Their FaceBook Page:
For educators of elementary school students, especially those who struggle to get into a book. In association with Chestnut Publishing, in Toronto, Canada, another series of 6 books is in the works. Each includes reading comprehension questions and learning activities developed by a noted educational professional. A collection of short stories will also be included in the books to be published. These are all stand-alone stories. The titles include:
Third House On The Left - Bullies
Midnight Shadows - Dangers of alcohol

The House Next Door - Hydroponics & illegal drugs

Rail Yard Bandits - Stealing

The Secret Tunnel - Honor & the value of a good reputation

Forest Of Fear - Environment

Tree Fort, Pigtails, Pollywogs, And More        (A delightful collection of short stories for kids)

Mark this site and check back regularly
I hope you’ll check out these books and the links provided. The first two series, Sam Cooper, and the Accidental Adventures, will be widely distributed through traditional book stores by Ingram, so I’d appreciate it if you would print out this entire post and take it to book store managers in your area.
You are also welcome to forward this post to family, teachers, and your circle of friends.

Thank you!
Max Elliot Anderson

Monday, May 25, 2015

Abby Is Here!

We have a new granddaughter, Abigail (Abby), was born here in Rockford, IL, to daughter Sarah and here husband, Michael.

Saturday, May 16, 2015

Release Announcement – Captain Jack’s Treasure

Late last year, the publisher of my
Sam Cooper Adventure Series informed me they would no longer be publishing books.
That’s the bad news.
The good news is the series is being picked up by Elk Lake Publishing.

Captain Jack’s Treasure is book #2 in the Sam Cooper Adventure Series for middle grade readers - 6 books will be released in this series.

Captain Jack’s Treasure

            Sam Cooper lives right near the ocean, on the Treasure Coast of Florida. All he’s ever heard about since he moved here were the fabulous treasures that have been found, and those still waiting to be discovered.
          For his birthday, he received the gift of his dreams. It’s the latest, top-of-the-line, metal detector. Along with his friends, Tony, and Tyler, all are convinced that they will be the ones to dig up the next great find.
          They meet a crusty sea captain named Jack. He’s fixing up an impossible looking old tub. The boys believe it’s going to be used to search for treasure at sea. They get permission from their parents to help with the restoration job in the hopes that Captain Jack will share his wealth.
          When Sam’s father nearly dies, from a heart attack, the true values of life take on new importance and meaning.
          What is Captain Jack’s mysterious secret? And what is he really planning to do with that boat?
          Readers will gain a new appreciation for family, they will learn about the dangers of greed, and oh the stories Captain Jack can tell.

Available in print and eBook

Sunday, May 10, 2015

Lost Island Smugglers released by Elk Lake Publishing

Release Announcement – Lost Island Smugglers
Late last year, the publisher of my Sam Cooper Adventure Series, informed me they would no longer be publishing books.

That’s the bad news.

The good news is, Elk Lake Publishing has picked up the series and now released the first book.
Lost Island Smugglers is book #1 in the Sam Cooper Adventure Series for middle grade readers - 6 books will be released in this series.

Lost Island Smugglers

          Sam Cooper had only recently moved to Florida when he met Tony at his new church. Tony’s father owned a marina.
          Sam, Tony, and Tyler took scuba lessons together. Tony got them in for free. After they completed the course, the boys decided to try out their new skills in the real world…the ocean. The only problem was, none of them had permission.
          While Tony’s father was away on a buying trip, the boys took one of the rental sailboats out for their diving adventure. Everything went well until the biggest storm Tony had ever seen, blew up from out of nowhere. Their boat was smashed to splinters and the boys found themselves stranded on Lost Island.
          But, if they thought the worst had happened, they were wrong. The boys discovered a secret hideout that was used by drug runners in high powered speedboats.
          Sam and his friends had to find a way to stop them, but how? And, even if they could, what were they going to tell their parents when they got home?

Available in print and eBook.

Wednesday, May 06, 2015

BLOG OF THE MONTH at Book Fun Magazine

This site was just voted BLOG OF THE MONTH at Book Fun Magazine.

Find out more about this excellent magazine, and read an article about my books at

Saturday, May 02, 2015

Special Announcement from Chestnut Publishing Group

Chestnut Publishing is very excited to announce that we will soon be publishing Max Elliot Andersons' short stories for children which will be co-authored by Larry Swartz. Max's short stories collection titled "Tree Forts, Pigtails, Pollywogs and More” contains seventeen short stories that young readers are sure to love. Larry Swartz, who is an instructor in literacy as well as dramatic arts at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto will provide Response Activities that connect to current curriculum outcomes for each of Max's titles. A Discussion Guide as well as suggested reading, writing, talk, arts, media and technology activities are designed to help students reveal and build understanding of Max Anderson's books.
As well, we will be soon publishing 6 stand-alone books of Max Elliot Andersons’ titled “Forest of Fear”, “Midnight Shadows”, “Rail Yard Bandits”, “The House Next Door”, “The Secret Tunnel”, and “The Third House on the Left”.
We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Book Fund for our publishing activities.

Like and / or follow Chestnut Publishing on Facebook at